• Publish date: Thursday، 07 September 2023

The non-profit organization Fashion Trust Arabia (FTA) is proud to announce the designers who have made the finalist list for the FTA 2023 Awards.

The FTA 2023 Advisory Board was responsible for selecting 20 designer finalists from applications submitted by emerging talent from across the MENA region, for a chance to win one of the 5 FTA Awards.

This year’s FTA Advisory Board include Ana Khouri, Beka Gvishiani, Carljin Jacos, Carlos Nazario, Carlyne Cerf de Dudzeele, Kelly Wearstler, Michael Ward, Miral Youssef, Nadia Dhouib, Peter Dundas, Piergiorgio Del Moro, Piotrek Panszcyk and Beckett Fogg, Sarah Staudinger, Tyler Mitchell and Valerie Messika. Returning Advisory Board members of last year’s edition include Adam Baidawi, Caroline Issa, Fabio Piras, Imruh Asha, Nina Garcia, Saif Mahdhi, Sara Sozzani Maino and Tiffany Godoy.

As for the Guest Country category - Nigeria, the 4 finalists have been shortlisted by an independent Advisory Board which include, Michelle Elie Meire, Ugo Mozie, Mobolaji, Dawodu, Desiree Ejoh, Sasa Thomann

The finalists will present their work to the FTA Jury in Doha on October 25 th, 2023. The 6 winners will be announced during the evening’s FTA 2023 Awards ceremony.


The finalists for this year’s FTA 2023 Awards are:

Ready-to-Wear Award

Ahmed Amer (Lebanon)

Ahmed Amer

Elise Testot (Syria)

Elise Testot

Sarah Alhamdan (Saudi Arabia)

Sara Alhamdan

Zeid Hijazi (Jordan)

Zeid Hijazi

Eveningwear Award

Amir Al Kasm (Syria)

Amir Al Kasm

Cynthia Merhej (Lebanon)

Cynthia Merhej

Sara Chraibi (Morocco)

Sara Chraibi

Yassmin Saleh (Lebanon)

Yassmin Saleh

Jewelry Award

Anas Alomaim (Kuwait)

Anas Alomaim

Katarina Tarazi (Lebanon)

Katarina Tarazi

Nour Ben Cheikh & Clémentine Lecointre (Tunis)

Nour Ben Cheikh & Clémentine Lecointre

Shereen Shawky (Egypt)

Shereen Shawky

Accessories Award

Amel Batita (Algeria)

Amel Batita

Dina Baheir (Egypt)

Dina Baheir

Omar Taha & Lily Max (Egypt)

Omar Taha & Lily Max

Oubadah Nouktah (Syria)

Oubadah Nouktah

Franca Sozzani Debut Talent Award

Adam Alaoui Elyasse (Morocco)

Adam Alaoui Elyasse

Amina Galal (Egypt)

Amina Galal

Batoul Omar al-Rashdan (Jordan)

Batoul Omar al-Rashdan

Maïssane Nour Zinaï (Algeria)

Maïssane Nour Zinaï


FTA has invited Nigeria as a guest country to take part in the upcoming 2023 edition of the FTA Awards, through a separate sixth prize – the Guest Country Award.

The Nigerian designers will undergo the same judging process with the FTA Jury as the other FTA finalists. The importance of helping young creatives in emerging markets build a global network of contacts and support system lies at the core of this collaboration in partnership with EMERGE Initiative.

The finalists for the Guest Country Award are:

Adeju Thompson

Adeju Thompson

Iniye Tokyo James

Iniye Tokyo James

Kenneth Ize

Kenneth Ize

Nkwo Onwuka

Nkwo Onwuka


The winning designers receive a financial grant of $100,000 to $200,000 cash prize, depending on the size of their business; with $25,000 for the Franca Sozzani Debut Talent Award and Guest Country Award.

Ready-to-Wear, Accessories and Jewelry category winners will also receive a one-year mentorship program by MATCHES, who will carry their collections for one season. Harrods will carry the eveningwear category winner’s collection.

In addition to retail opportunities, FTA offers winners incredible benefits, including mentorships with The Bicester Collection and showroom representation and PR consultancy by Maison Pyramide. Huntsman will offer the Ready-to-Wear category winner an internship in London. As part of the internship the winner will be creating a capsule collection to be sold on the retailer’s e-commerce platform.

Luxury ethical fashion retail platform Maison De Mode will offer a tailored mentorship to all six winners that focuses on the importance of sustainability and ethical fashion practices.